Mellow Yellow

It is my favorite time of the month, the arrival of new magazines. The October edition of House Beautiful arrived and the featured color is yellow. I couldn’t believe it. For many years I despised the color yellow because my bedroom growing up had yellow antiqued furniture with green patchwork quilts.  My mom worked really hard to make a cute little girls bedroom. I hated it because I wanted a purple bedroom.  Two of our three girls later and all of them selected purple for their bedrooms, the youngest she wants a orange room.

I researched the web to see if I could find an image of the furniture we had and guess what I found it.

imageimage

This is dresser and we had a hutch on top.  The chest is the furniture my best friend, Missy had in her room. We spent the part of the  seventies and early eighties in between the tow bedrooms. listening to music, playing with make up, discussing boys, all things girls do.

imageimage

While I was searching I found these images, yellow interiors of the 1970s.  This image too a great color and piled it on. Remove the wallpaper and the yellow chest and appliances it could be really playful modern interior.  I love the vibrancy of the image on the left. could be an interior of today

image

Check this out today or 1970s? I think it is the 1970s because of the wood paneling in the background and the painting in the foreground. Also my fellow blogger at Viva La Vintage scored the two wicker poufs at Goodwill.

Leave a comment