2015 – The Year of Transformation

It is January of 2015 and I am thinking about my blog theme for the year. Transformation came to mind. I love transforming ordinary spaces into exciting new designs. That is why I chose interior design as a profession. I love visualizing new concepts for any space. The worse the space the more fun the project. Today I have been thinking about what it takes to make changes in a space and in life. It takes a plan, which I find many of my clients don’t put the effort into planning the space. A good plan does not happen overnight, like it does on HGTV. Listed below are a few steps for creating a new space.

Transformation is a process:

Step One: Getting ready

– Admitting the need for change

– How will change improve my life, space

– What do I want to achieve from my new space

– Am I going to try to do this on my own

Step Two: Gathering the information

– As we know all major changes need a team – designer, contactor and a client

– Who will be on my team

– Investment – how much, time and money

Step Three – Now we can begin the design work

– List the design criteria, what are you trying to achieve? this will be the guiding light for the project.

– Gather images and ideas

– Review the images and ideas – will they fit or be suitable for my room. I love a white sofa, but I have three toddlers and a dog, probably not a good fit.

– Create a floor plan to scale, this is where a designer is invaluable

– Create an image board for the furniture and other pieces required for the room.

Step Four – Implement the design

– This is the messy part,

– This is the part when tensions are high and the change is occurring. You want it to happen but it can be chaotic and stressful.

Step Five –

– Now that you made it through all the decisions, craziness of a renovation or room transformation. Enjoy!

– You will think why didn’t I do this sooner.

Leave a comment